IAC forms new interest groups

The American Council for Technology's Industry Advisory Council changed the names and focuses of two of its nine shared-interest groups and has announced new group leaders for 2006.

The eGovernement group has been renamed the Collaboration and Transformation group and will focus on IT-enabled change in government. This group also has a new financial management committee that will exchange information among government and committee members.

The Procurement and Acquisition group has been renamed the Acquisition Management group and has been expanded to address acquisition lifecycle management issues, as well as competitive sourcing, acquisition workforce and procurement and contract alternatives.

The other seven groups remain unchanged. They are Emerging Technology, Enterprise Architecture, Homeland Protection, Human Capital, Information Security and Privacy, Networks and Telecommunications and Small Business.

The shared-interest groups review and debate government priorities of interest to industry and provide a forum for government and industry to discuss these issues. The new group structure for 2006 was formed after an annual review considered input from group government advisory panel members and the executive advisory panel, which is comprised of senior government representatives. The proposed changes were also reviewed by Karen Evans of the Office of Management and Budget, and Dan Matthews, formerly of the Transportation Department.

The shared-interest group leaders for 2006 are:

  • Acquisition Management: Anne Reed, Acquisition Solutions Inc. (chair) and Nancy Peters, CACI International Inc. (vice chair)

  • Collaboration and Transformation: Gene Zapfel, Unisys Corp. (chair) and Warren Ellmore, Everware Inc. (vice chair)

  • Emerging Technology: Prashant Guar, Unisys (chair) and Sharon Payne, Lohfeld Consulting Group Inc. (vice chair)

  • Enterprise Architecture: Earl Pedersen, SI International Inc. (chair) and Mike Tiemann, Booz Allen Hamilton Inc. (vice chair)

  • Homeland Protection: Tom Ragland, Apogen Technologies Inc. (chair) and Chris D'Ascenzo, Lockheed Martin Corp. (vice chair)

  • Human Capital: Randy Michael, McMunn & Associates Inc. (chair) and Sara DeCarlo, Ninth House Inc. (vice chair)

  • Information Security and Privacy: Mary Ellen Condon, SRA International Inc. (chair) and Bob Dix, Citadel Security Software Inc. (vice chair)

  • Networks and Telecommunications: Tony Bardo, Hughes Networks Systems LLP (chair) and Walt Grabowski, SI International (vice chair)

  • Small Business: Ed Silva, IDL Solutions Inc. (chair) and Mike Fox, Synaptic Source LLC (vice chair)

The American Council for Technology is a non-profit organization formed in 1979 to help the federal government acquire and use IT resources. It established the Industry Advisory Council in 1989 to let industry and government executives exchange information and build partnerships. IAC has about 530 member companies.

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above.

What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here

Washington Technology Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.


contracts DB