Cybersecurity leaders named

Rep. Mac Thornberry, R-Texas, was named chairman of the new House Homeland Security subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Science and Research and Development. Rep Zoe Lofgren, D-Calif., was named ranking minority member.

The Homeland Security Committee coordinates House oversight of the Homeland Security Department and has legislative jurisdiction over the 2002 act creating the department. It is chaired by Rep. Christopher Cox, R-Calif.

The cybersecurity subcommittee oversees security of computer, telecommunications and information technology; protection of government and private networks and computer systems; and prevention of injury to civilian populations and physical infrastructure caused by cyberattack.


Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here

Washington Technology Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.


contracts DB