SBA calls for nominations for SBIR hall of fame awards

The Small Business Administration is looking for nominations for its annual Tibbetts and Small Business Innovation Research (SBIR) Hall of Fame Awards.

Named for Roland Tibbetts, the father of the SBIR program, the Tibbetts Awards are awarded to small businesses, organizations and individuals who exemplify the best in the SBIR program.

The SBIR program is a competitive three-phase award program that encourages small businesses to explore their technological potential and helps them profit from their inventions, SBA said in a release.

Awards will go to companies, organizations and individuals who have leveraged the program in a way that has generated a measurable return in value to small business innovation.

There are two types of Tibbetts Awards:

  • Ones that go to businesses who have participated in the SBIR or Small Business Technology Transfer programs.
  • Ones that go to organizations/individuals who have not received SBIR/STTR funding, but who have contributed in implementing the programs or in supporting the programs’ participants, SBA said.

The nomination period closes at 11:59 p.m. EDT on Apr. 10, 2015. The winners of the awards will be invited to an awards program in June during the annual SBIR National Conference at the National Harbor.

Click here to details on how to submit a nomination.

About the Author

Mark Hoover is a senior staff writer with Washington Technology. You can contact him at, or connect with him on Twitter at @mhooverWT.

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here


contracts DB

Washington Technology Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.