WIT unveils Technology Leadership Award finalists

Annual awards will honor 39 finalists across 10 categories

The Women in Technology organization has announced the finalists for the 11th Annual Women in Technology Leadership Awards, which honor leading female professionals in the Greater Washington, D.C., metropolitan area who have exemplified unique vision and talent in the technology industry during the previous year.

WIT will recognize 39 finalists across 10 categories, including four new award categories. Winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony on May 20, at the Ritz Carlton, Tysons Corner.

The finalists are:

Corporate Commercial Large Business:

Deborah James, senior vice president and business unit general manager, SAIC
Jennifer Kitchen, senior vice president of Research, CoStar Group
Colleen Oresky, director of Innovative Technology Office, SAIC
Christine Schaefer, vice president, Marketing, DLT Solutions

Corporate Commercial Small Business:

Maura Colleton Corbett, partner, Qorvis Communications, LLC
Laurie Freeman, COO, Lore Systems
Maria Everhart Gaboury, vice president, Healthcare Solutions, DefenseWeb Technologies Inc.
Gazelle Hashemian, president, Paragon Technology Group Inc.

Corporate Public Sector Large Business:

Deborah Dowling, vice president and division manager, Homeland Security Solutions, SAIC
Melinda (Mindy) Gallo Eckman, senior manager for capture, Northrop Grumman Corp.
Diane B. Gongaware, director of operations for civilian agencies, Cisco Systems Inc.
Wendy Martin, director of business development, Harris Corp.

Corporate Public Sector Small Business

Lisa Kazor, president & CEO, Savantage Solutions
Carolyn Merek, CEO & president, eMentum Inc.
Ola Sage, president & CEO, e-Management
Mary Ann Wagner, president & CEO, XIO Strategies


Paula Armentrout, co-founder & vice president, Parabon Computation Inc.
Lynn Ann Casey, CEO, Arc Aspicio
Jennifer L. Coolidge, president and founder, Nexus Systems Inc.
Dede Haskins, CEO and president, NewVision Health Inc.


Lisa M. Davis, assistant director/CIO, Department of Justice, United States Marshals Service
Jo Ann Jenkins, chief operating officer, Library of Congress
Paulette Robinson, assistant dean for teaching, learning & technology, iCollege, National Defense University
Isabel FitzGerald, chief information officer, state of Maryland, Department of Human Resources

Health IT:

Teresa Carlson, vice president, Microsoft Federal, Microsoft Corp.
Claire M. Fraser-Liggett, director, Institute for Genome Sciences at the University of Maryland School of Medicine
Susan Penfield, officer, Booz Allen Hamilton

Global Impact:

Susan C. Aldridge, president, University of Maryland University College
Lana Bian, director of marketing communications, China Telecom Americas
Siobhan Green, CEO & lead technology strategist and information architect, Sonjara
Julie Rosen, assistant vice president & senior scientist, SAIC.

Unsung Hero:

Jennifer Freed, Navy Marine Corps Intranet Service Delivery Integrated Product Team manager, NMCI Program Office, Department of the Navy
Kathleen Furlong, director of business development operations, Avaya Government Solutions
Sandra Nickerson, senior principal, SRA International
Karla Prudom, field service engineer, Afghanistan Country Lead, SAIC

Rising Star:

Michelle Czirjak, associate, Booz Allen Hamilton
Katherine Tobin, associate, Booz Allen Hamilton
Sara VanAllman, project manager, Northrop Grumman Corp.
Jhaymee Wilson, project manager, CACI International

About the Author

David Hubler is the former print managing editor for GCN and senior editor for Washington Technology. He is freelance writer living in Annandale, Va.

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above.


WT Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.