Who are the top innovators in the government market?

CTOs from CSC, KoreFederal win top honors

The Northern Virginia Technology Council and Washington Technology picked a slate of top chief technology officers from government contractors who were recognized this week for their innovations over the past year.

Four large business CTOs and four small business CTOs were named finalists for the third annual NVTC-Washington Technology Government Contractor CTO Innovator awards.

The two winners were Yogesh Khanna from Computer Sciences Corp. and Brian Styger of Kore Federal.

The other finalists in the large business category were Michael Brown, comScore, Jason O’Connor, Lockheed Martin, and Vishal Sikka, SAP. In the small business category were Michael King, Halfaker and Associates, William Maguire, IntelliDyne, and Branko Primetica, eGlobalTech.

The CTOs were honored at NVTC’s annual TechCelebration dinner on Monday night.

Khanna was recognized for establishing CSC’s data center consolidation and cloud go-to-market strategy and offerings. He also helped develop a strategic roadmap for product offerings to support the Federal Data Center Consolidation Initiative and to help CSC’s clients migrate to the "as a service" consumption model.

In addition, he established an innovation task force, comprised of CTOs who represent their respective divisions at CSC.

Stygar is responsible for sales, development and management of Kore Federal’s Department of Homeland Security and Intelligence Community division, accounting for more than 60 percent of the company’s 2011 and 2012 estimated revenues. He has automated many of Kore Federal’s back-office processes using cloud computing and software-as-a-service solutions and developed an IT service model that has improved Kore Federal’s office automation and IT capability.

“The CTO Innovator Awards honor the region’s outstanding CTOs for their critical contributions to achieving results for customers and leadership within their own companies,” said NVTC President and CEO Bobbie Kilberg. “NVTC is proud to recognize the winners for their leadership and accomplishments, which have significantly contributed to their companies and the region’s technology community.”


About the Author

Nick Wakeman is the editor-in-chief of Washington Technology. Follow him on Twitter: @nick_wakeman.

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here
contracts DB


  • Dive into our Contract Award database

    In an exclusive for WT Insider members, we are collecting all of the contract awards we cover into a database that you can sort by contractor, agency, value and other parameters. You can also download it into a spreadsheet. Read More

  • Is SBA MIA on contractor fraud? Nick Wakeman

    Editor Nick Wakeman explores the puzzle of why SBA has been so silent on the latest contractor fraud scandal when it has been so quick to act in other cases. Read More