Women in Technology names 2011 leadership award finalists

Organization will announce winners in May

Women in Technology has named 40 finalists in 12 categories for its annual Women in Technology Leadership Awards.

Science Applications International Corp. grabbed the most nominations with seven.

Other companies represented with multiple nominations were Computer Sciences Corp. with three and Northrop Grumman and Deloitte with two nominations each.

The finalists are being recognized for their contributions to the technology industry over the course of the past year. The winners will be announced May 19 during a banquet at the Ritz-Carlton in McLean, Va.

The finalists are:

Corporate Commercial Large Business
  • Jill Bruning, NJVC
  • Kathy A. Miller, American Red Cross
  • Mary Jo Morris, CSC
  • Beverly Seay, SAIC

Corporate Commercial Small Business
  • Homaira Akbari, SkyBitz Inc.
  • Lisa Dezzutti, Market Connections Inc.
  • Lynne Hamilton-Jones, Executec Strategic Consulting
  • Fran Maier, TRUSTe

Corporate Public Sector Large Business
  • Kristine Martin Anderson, Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Kristine Beale, SAIC
  • Cheryl Campbell, CGI
  • Linda A. Mills, Northrop Grumman Information Systems

Corporate Public Sector Small Business
  • Marty Engle, The Engle Group
  • Gazelle Hashemian, Paragon Technology Group Inc.
  • Jeri Lassiter, ASM Research Inc.
  • Elma Levy, Dovel Technologies

  • Dr. Nicole Close, EmpiriStat Inc.
  • Victoria Ransom, Wildfire Interactive
  • Latanyua Robinson, Latrobe LLC
  • Mary Beth Romani, Integrity Management Consulting Inc.

  • Wanda Gibson, Fairfax County, Va.
  • Theresa Grafenstine, inspector general, U.S. House of Representatives
  • Stephanie Rowe, The Clearing Inc.
  • Ann Speyer, Smithsonian Institution

Education IT
  • Linda Dozier, ePals Inc.
  • Kamalika Sandell, American University
  • Veronica Wendt, iCollege, National Defense University

Health IT
  • Sherry Charles, AT&T
  • Rose Crane, Epocrates Inc.
  • Lori Davis, 2020 Company LLC
  • Katrina Firlik, HealthPrize Technologies

Global Impact
  • Dr. JoGayle Howard, Smithsonian National Zoological Park
  • Blanca Trevino, Softtek

Green IT
  • Mile Corrigan, Noblis
  • Ann-Marie Johnson, CSC

Unsung Hero
  • Amanda Anderson, Northrop Grumman
  • Sarah Hyder, FEMA
  • Lara Rivera López, CSC
  • Denise Lucero, Deloitte
  • Elizabeth Sheehan, SAIC

Rising Star
  • Emily Blanchette, SAIC
  • Sandra Martinez, SAIC
  • Charity Nowling, SAIC
  • Rachelle Palmer, Deloitte
  • Jennifer Snyder, SAIC
  • Kate Wolf, Centuria Corp.

The program also include Vernice “FlyGirl” Armour, the Marine Corps’ first African-American female combat pilot, as the keynote speaker.

About the Author

Nick Wakeman is the editor-in-chief of Washington Technology. Follow him on Twitter: @nick_wakeman.

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above.


WT Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.