DHS wants to extend Safety Act application process

Proposed rule to continue collecting product information open for comment

The Homeland Security Department’s Science and Technology Directorate is seeking approval to continue using the existing set of up to 11 application forms for Safety Act designations beyond Jan. 31, 2010.

Congress passed the Safety Act (Support for Anti-Terrorism by Fostering Effective Technologies Act) in 2002 to protect designated technologies from broad liability in the event the technology fails during a terrorist attack. The goal was to foster the development of innovative technologies by reducing the risks of legal liability. DHS has certified or designated 300 technologies under the Safety Act as of July 30, 2009. The certifications offer the broadest liability protections, while the designations offer limited protections.

The Science and Technology Directorate collects information from applicants on up to 11 different forms to implement the program. DHS has issued a proposed rule to continue that activity.

“S&T currently has approval to collect information for the implementation of the Safety Act program until Jan. 31, 2010. With this notice, DHS S&T seeks approval to renew this information collection for continued use after this date,” a Federal Register notice stated Aug. 21.

Public comments are due by Oct. 20.

Currently, applicants for Safety Act designations and certifications must file up to 11 forms, including:

  • Registration of a Seller of an Anti-Terrorism Technology (DHS Form 10010);
  • Request for a Pre-Application Consultation (DHS Form 10009);
  • Notice of License of Qualified Anti-Terrorism Technology (DHS Form 10003);
  • Application for Modification of Safety Act Benefits (DHS Form 10002);
  • Request for Transfer of Safety Act Benefits (DHS Form 10001);
  • Application for Safety Act Renewal (DHS FORM 10057);
  • Application for Safety Act Developmental Testing and Evaluation Designation (DHS Form 10006);
  • Application for Safety Act Designation (DHS Form 10008);
  • Application for Safety Act Certification (DHS Form 10007);
  • Application for Safety Act Block Designation (DHS Form 10005); and
  • Application for Safety Act Block Certification (DHS Form 10004).

In 2008, the department approved 65 technologies for Safety Act designations and certifications.

About the Author

Alice Lipowicz is a staff writer covering government 2.0, homeland security and other IT policies for Federal Computer Week.

Reader Comments

Tue, Sep 8, 2009

does Homeland Security have a grant program set up for Mass Notification Systems? Can a correctional facility apply, and how?

Mon, Aug 31, 2009 Dave DC

Only in extreme cases would an applicant have to fill out more than five of the forms, and in most cases, only two are needed. One of these is the registration form which takes about 5 minutes to fill out. To learn more, see the LinkedIn Group: SAFETY Act Resource Center.

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

What is your e-mail address?

My e-mail address is:

Do you have a password?

Forgot your password? Click here


  • POWER TRAINING: How to engage your customers

    Don't miss our Aug. 2 Washington Technology Power Training session on Mastering Stakeholder Engagement, where you'll learned the critical skills you need to more fully connect with your customers and win more business. Read More


    In our latest Project 38 Podcast, editor Nick Wakeman interviews Tom Romeo, the leader of Maximus Federal about how it has zoomed up the 2019 Top 100. Read More

contracts DB

Washington Technology Daily

Sign up for our newsletter.

Terms and Privacy Policy consent

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.